Page 1 of 1

Send and receive text via OSC in Resolume

Posted: 15 Nov 2017 17:05
by Imza
Hello. I'm using OSC on a template I created for Resolume. It was pretty easy to map buttons to commands and it works wonderfully. However, you can name decks (tabs) and clips, and I was wondering if there was a way for Resolume to tell my Lemur interface what text that was, and display it on Lemur?

Re: Send and receive text via OSC in Resolume

Posted: 15 Nov 2017 21:44
by Phil999
as far as I know it's not possible.

For my personal use, this lack is the only reason why I haven't purchased a Resolume Arena license until now. It's a very good software, but I need clip name feedback because I alter the Resolume project on the fly, loading new animations etc. Also for preparing a performance it is necessary to have text feedback on the controller.

We should contact the developers of Resolume.

Re: Send and receive text via OSC in Resolume

Posted: 18 Nov 2017 17:51
by Imza
From Resolume support:
Resolume 6 supports text via OSC.
You can ask for the names by putting a question mark before the addresses.
Addresses for names are pretty straightforward, for example layer 1 name:
/composition/layers/1/name
to set it send a string to this address.
As another example, a column 3's address is
/composition/columns/3/name
A clip's address is
/composition/layers/3/clips/5/name
you see the scheme right, this is layer 3 clip 5.
The composition BPM's address is
/composition/tempocontroller/tempo

You can find out any address and expected value type and range by going to Shortcuts menu-Edit OSC and clicking on colored items.
I asked some follow up questions so I will update this thread.

Re: Send and receive text via OSC in Resolume

Posted: 18 Nov 2017 19:59
by Imza
I'm using Resolume 5, and I got it to work.

Make a new script for a text object, name it "content" or whatever, name is irrelevant
Execution: On OSC
Custom address:
/composition/deck1/name
or
/layer1/clip1/name

Then for the script:

Code: Select all

setattribute(textobjectname, 'content', OSC_ARGS);
Where "textobjectname" is the name of the text object.

Happy coding :)

Re: Send and receive text via OSC in Resolume

Posted: 18 Nov 2017 20:27
by Phil999
thank you Imza, this is very good news.

Re: Send and receive text via OSC in Resolume

Posted: 25 Nov 2017 19:53
by Phil999
Imza wrote:From Resolume support:
You can ask for the names by putting a question mark before the addresses.
this part I haven't understood yet. In Lemur I tried to put a question mark before the address, it gets formatted to

Code: Select all

/?/address
and it looks like Resolume 5 doesn't understand this format. What works is to run Lemur first, then run Resolume. Then all texts appear correctly. Also after changing or moving a clip the names are indicated correctly. It's great to work like this, Resolume has finally become my VJ software of choice.

Re: Send and receive text via OSC in Resolume

Posted: 03 Dec 2017 22:09
by Imza
Phil999 wrote:
Imza wrote:From Resolume support:
You can ask for the names by putting a question mark before the addresses.
this part I haven't understood yet. In Lemur I tried to put a question mark before the address, it gets formatted to

Code: Select all

/?/address
and it looks like Resolume 5 doesn't understand this format. What works is to run Lemur first, then run Resolume. Then all texts appear correctly. Also after changing or moving a clip the names are indicated correctly. It's great to work like this, Resolume has finally become my VJ software of choice.
I haven't gotten Resolume 6 to work with text correctly at all. I have a matrix of 4 layers, with 40 clips each, as well as decks with names. The deck names don't work at all unless they're renamed--I'm assuming this is because I have the trigger for the text to be "on OSC" and OSC isn't sent unless the app is started or the name is changed. Additionally. many of my clip names don't work. Sometimes it's layer 4 clip 2, sometimes it's clip 5, but it won't work for a while and then it'll start showing up. This inconsistency drives me nuts. I wish I could figure out a way for Lemur to actually ask/prompt Resolume for the text data instead of just receiving it when the OSC is sent.

Re: Send and receive text via OSC in Resolume

Posted: 04 Dec 2017 17:48
by Phil999
Imza wrote:I wish I could figure out a way for Lemur to actually ask/prompt Resolume for the text data instead of just receiving it when the OSC is sent.
yes, that's what it should do according to the description or advertising of Resolume 6. When you read the description you have the impression that all the dreams come true, that everything is settled and solved. But after installing Resolume 6 demo version, I admit I was quite disappointed. Two things didn't work at all (clip names, Spout), which function well in v.5.

I guess it takes some more patience and effort to make these things work in v.6. Do you have an account at the Resolume forum? That's probably the better place to discuss these topics. Myself I'm a bit reluctant to join that forum because the tone does not show the seriousness as I would like, but that's just an impression. I will register there soon, there surely are others with the same demands.

Well it's winter time where outdoor projections are stalled anyway. Time for testing and checking things out, time for editing the collected imagery during summer. I'm sure we will get to the point where we like to be: complete control and complete feedback of the software.

Thank you for your work, it helps me a lot.

Re: Send and receive text via OSC in Resolume

Posted: 08 Dec 2017 18:27
by Imza
Phil999 wrote:
Imza wrote:I wish I could figure out a way for Lemur to actually ask/prompt Resolume for the text data instead of just receiving it when the OSC is sent.
yes, that's what it should do according to the description or advertising of Resolume 6. When you read the description you have the impression that all the dreams come true, that everything is settled and solved. But after installing Resolume 6 demo version, I admit I was quite disappointed. Two things didn't work at all (clip names, Spout), which function well in v.5.

I guess it takes some more patience and effort to make these things work in v.6. Do you have an account at the Resolume forum? That's probably the better place to discuss these topics. Myself I'm a bit reluctant to join that forum because the tone does not show the seriousness as I would like, but that's just an impression. I will register there soon, there surely are others with the same demands.

Well it's winter time where outdoor projections are stalled anyway. Time for testing and checking things out, time for editing the collected imagery during summer. I'm sure we will get to the point where we like to be: complete control and complete feedback of the software.

Thank you for your work, it helps me a lot.
I post on the forum, yeah, no solid luck so far. The problem with the code is that it DOES ask R6 for the name, but since it triggers "on OSC" it isn't triggered until OSC is sent for that function. I'll keep this thread up to date with my research.