increase item limit on menus

Send us your feedback or ask for features.

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Gramsham » 30 Sep 2014 16:00

Hi Guys,

I'm delighted to have found this post as I too have recently encountered the limitations of the menu object.

Having spent the last few days working with the example from Softcore (thanks for the smart coding!), I've run into another problem
to overcome; when I try to scale the output from each container (i.e. individual menus) from 0-127 so as to interact with the live.menu in Live, the output is 0 for the first item
and 127 for each subsequent item (I checked it using a MIDI observer patch in Max). This kind of scaling was no problem with the menu object and worked fine in Live.
Would anybody have an idea as to how to overcome today's latest challenge?

Cheers,

Graham
Gramsham
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Sep 2014 15:39

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Softcore » 30 Sep 2014 20:06

Hello there....due to the fact that the "selection" variable is calculated via scripts, enabling the "scale" option in the midi mappings makes all the thing fail

In reality the "scale" option expects a floating value from 0 to 1 to then scale it to the desired 1-127 range. As you see in my template, the "selection" has actual 0 - 127 range thats why any value besides 0 with "scale" enabled will make the thing spit out 127s

Now, as it is, each object sends a CC related to its index position. All you have to do, for mapped menus in Ableton Live is to set the "mapping" options of said parameter (or menu of Live) so that

minimum = 0 and
maximum = amount of menu options in Lemur

This way your menu selections inside Lemur will "coincide" with the actual menu selection on Live.

;)
Softcore
Regular
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Gramsham » 01 Oct 2014 08:49

Hmm...thanks for the advice but I can't find a way to adjust the range for live.menu - those options are greyed out. Frustrating.
Gramsham
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Sep 2014 15:39

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Softcore » 01 Oct 2014 12:31

Ah I see....so.....just send me the Lemur menu object you been working on and let me know the desired range - I'll do one for ya so that you can get the idea behind it. ;)
Softcore
Regular
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Gramsham » 01 Oct 2014 14:51

It's funny that I'm essentially sending you your own work :)

Basically, the live.menu will respond to 0-127 scaling but that's not what's being output from the scrolling menu.

The ranges I'm sending are small - 0-3, 0-5, 0-20 etc.
Attachments
note_select.jzml
(1.43 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
wave_select.jzml
(10.7 KiB) Downloaded 72 times
Gramsham
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Sep 2014 15:39

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Softcore » 01 Oct 2014 16:15

No the first one isnt lol - its a simple menu object and as you can see you CANT jsut set desired 127 range....

here's the trickery though! ;)

(remember, if you change the menu options, you LL HAVE to change the division selection/19)

So here is the first one
Attachments
note_select-127range.jzml
(1.22 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
Softcore
Regular
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Softcore » 01 Oct 2014 16:23

And here's the other one - no need to change anything when you change the amount of options - I'm reading the amount in the script and do the division by script ;)
Attachments
wave_select-127range.jzml
(5.99 KiB) Downloaded 105 times
Softcore
Regular
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Gramsham » 07 Oct 2014 21:58

Hey Softcore, I finally got a chance to sit down with those patches yesterday - been coding ever since!
After a bit of tinkering and adapting your ideas, I'm flying it now and have beautiful scrolling menus mapped to Live.
Had to do a little bit of thinking to match it all up but got there in the end.

Thanks for your help and the lesson in the magic of scripting.

All the best,

Graham :ugeek:
Gramsham
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Sep 2014 15:39

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Softcore » 08 Oct 2014 11:58

Great! yeah it is like magic isnt it? ;)
Softcore
Regular
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: 04 Nov 2012 08:34

Re: increase item limit on menus

Postby Joe Soap » 08 Oct 2014 17:38

Magic so advanced . . . it's indistinguisable from technology.
Joe Soap
Regular
 
Posts: 472
Joined: 07 Jul 2012 15:04

PreviousNext

Return to Wishlist

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron