OSC over USB

Send us your feedback or ask for features.
AndersStig
OSC over USB

Post by AndersStig » 05 Apr 2012 16:24

I guess its up to the hardware makers (Apple) or jail breaking your device,
But standing on a stage with multiple wireless signals does pose some threat to an ad hoc WIFI connection.
I just always find WIFI to be a bit dodgy and I dont trust information that doesn't run through a cable 8-)

Any thoughts on this?
Is it possible?

A

cloud_canvas

Re: OSC over USB

Post by cloud_canvas » 16 Jul 2013 14:26

+1

From what I've researched thus far, OSC as a protocol is not inherently wireless, it just uses an address path format that is comparable to HTML. My understanding of the current state of the spec is that most of the time, a wired (or at least a closed-system, software-to-software within one computer) implementation of it still requires wrapping TCP/IP like string packets around an existing control signal (Serial, MIDI, what have you) - but I am not technical enough to comment on this, I just have knowledge of other wired OSC projects - Arduinome/Chronome (which requires Nomestate to translate Arduino serial into OSC) and OSCuino (which still doesn't really work, and uses SLIPSerial as its means of translation/message construction and transmission).