PLEASE fix the editor!

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
Post Reply
joebataz
Regular
Posts:154
Joined:28 Feb 2012 16:50
Location:Anthem, AZ USA
Contact:
PLEASE fix the editor!

Post by joebataz » 31 Jul 2014 20:40

Just lost a ton of work because of the editor:

Editor doesn't autoscroll
No search and replace
Can't copy and paste to 3rd party editors (THIS IS A MONSTER ISSUE!!)
Script limit needs to be larger.

A faithful but frustrated Lemurite........

joeb

joebataz
Regular
Posts:154
Joined:28 Feb 2012 16:50
Location:Anthem, AZ USA
Contact:

Re: PLEASE fix the editor!

Post by joebataz » 31 Jul 2014 20:55

In regards to the leading thread, I'm running into script size issues because of the need to use long terms to get at a variable.

I want to be able to replace a long string with a single letter reference:
decl s = findobject(Sets.C_A.Fixtures);
ctlout(0,15,s.T_Tilt1,7);
this gives me a red script. If I just do:

decl s = findobject(Sets.C_A.Fixtures);

script is fine. If I execute

ctlout(0,15,Sets.C_A.Fixtures.T_Tilt1,7);

Lemur dutifully sends out the value of T_Tilt1 in CC15 on MIDI channel 7

Unfortunately I run out of script space using the long form of reference. Even though the script doesn't show the error sign in the project list it cuts off the end of the script and when I save it starts throwing XML error messages.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Joe B

Joe Soap
Regular
Posts:475
Joined:07 Jul 2012 15:04

Re: PLEASE fix the editor!

Post by Joe Soap » 31 Jul 2014 22:16

Hey Joe . . . (!)

Copy / paste supposed to be fixed in next update, but if you need it in a hurry, Cmd-c and paste into a javascript console in a browser, Firefox offers plenty of option for this. You can then, for some arcane reason paste further into an external editor.

I only discovered this today after weeks of noticing random bits of lemurcode appearing in search boxes, or other apps. Finally decided to nail this down and discovered, bug==feature for those in need.

nick_liine
Liine Staff
Posts:340
Joined:01 Oct 2010 11:06

Re: PLEASE fix the editor!

Post by nick_liine » 01 Aug 2014 09:04

joebataz wrote: decl s = findobject(Sets.C_A.Fixtures);
ctlout(0,15,s.T_Tilt1,7);
this gives me a red script.
dots are permitted only after objects. dots are not permitted after variables.

joebataz wrote: Unfortunately I run out of script space using the long form of reference. Even though the script doesn't show the error sign in the project list it cuts off the end of the script and when I save it starts throwing XML error messages.
We are working on extending/removing the script character limit. In the meantime, splitting up large scripts into smaller scripts would be the solution.

joebataz
Regular
Posts:154
Joined:28 Feb 2012 16:50
Location:Anthem, AZ USA
Contact:

Re: PLEASE fix the editor!

Post by joebataz » 02 Aug 2014 00:57

Hey folks,

Thanks for all the suggestions. Splitting the scripts worked. Didn't know about the java console. I'll try that!

Next question, this is in the addendum:
decl i = 2;
decl name = ‘Fader’ + i; // this produces the string "Fader2"
decl object = findchild(aContainer, name); // this obtains aContainer.Fader2

Doesn't this imply you could use
setattribute(object,'x',25);

or
object.x = 25;
????
Either would work for me. GREAT NEWS about the upcoming fixes!! I have another request, but its a biggie! It would be SO NICE if we could pass data in and out of Lemur using either standard iOS file functions or dare I ask, SQLite?
I have just about finished my new app except for the sequencer which unfortunately needs me to be able to save 100 element arrays of mostly integers, 4 or 5 of the fields are short text names. I've kludged my way around limitations but the code got very ugly real quick. Still thinking of a way around it but for the time being the sequencer is dead in the water. There's a way to do it using my DMXIS software but I kind of lose the new fading I've built into my app, oh well....

Again thanks for the responses. Lemur continues to ROCK!!!

Joe B

joebataz
Regular
Posts:154
Joined:28 Feb 2012 16:50
Location:Anthem, AZ USA
Contact:

Re: PLEASE fix the editor!

Post by joebataz » 02 Aug 2014 01:07

Hey Joe Soap,

WELL RAISE MY RENT!!!

Your java script console works like a charm! Now I can get to my editor without all the save-quit-edit-save-close-start Lemur- open................................

Thanks!~

Joe B

electrofux
Regular
Posts:297
Joined:24 Jan 2012 18:22

Re: PLEASE fix the editor!

Post by electrofux » 05 Aug 2014 08:53

Search and replace would be heaven ;-)

Post Reply