Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
Heartmood
Newbie
Posts:11
Joined:02 May 2014 14:36
Location:Frankfurt, Germany
Contact:
Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by Heartmood » 02 May 2014 15:55

Screenshot 2014-05-02 17.51.34.jpg
Screenshot of my project
Screenshot 2014-05-02 17.51.34.jpg (230.86KiB)Viewed 5219 times
Hello, I'm a newbie and free of knowledge;-)
What I want: A grid of 36 buttons (I tried switches) with each button representing a Gr-55 patch of my choice

Where I am: I managed to create the grid of 36 switches, but how can make each switch send an individual Sysex message? And why is the syses message text red?
iMac 27" (Late 2009, 2,8 GHz Core i7, 16GB RAM), Latest OS X; Macbook Pro 17" (Mid 2009, 2,8 GHz Core 2 Duo, 8GB RAM), Latest OS X; iPad Wifi, 128GB, 4th gen., Lemur; Fodera 6-str. bass with Roland GK-3; Roland GR-55 in Bassmode;

oldgearguy
Regular
Posts:315
Joined:02 Nov 2013 11:19

Re: Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by oldgearguy » 02 May 2014 16:36

I think the sysex message is red because you don't need the 0xF0 and 0xF7 (but I can't find that info in the manual).

I tend to use scripts for my sysex and inside a script I simply use a variable for any byte(s) that change. One of the other contributors that use this method of sending sysex can chime in for exactly how to phrase it.

Macciza
Regular
Posts:1325
Joined:07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location:Sydney, Australia.

Re: Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by Macciza » 02 May 2014 17:14

Yep
Basically if a statement won't compile it will go red, as in this case . .
The key here, part from it being the basic mapping, is the 'data' bit . .
The field expects just the data, (no f0/f7) and really only static statements . .
For variable stuff try custom midi and for greater control use scripts

I have done some GR 55 stuff a long time ago that I may have posted ...
I'll dig it up - there is some custom midi sysex stuff in it to look at . . .
Should try to get back to that project as well
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]

Heartmood
Newbie
Posts:11
Joined:02 May 2014 14:36
Location:Frankfurt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by Heartmood » 03 May 2014 12:25

Thank you for caring Macciza and oldgearguy!
Oldgearguy's suggestion didn't work.
I really want to learn Lemur but with the manual alone it seems very hard. Sysex data formats are not explained, with the "standard" midi messages I have no success, as far as I saw on the GR-55 (vguitarforums) user forum I'd have to send three messages, a quote from gumtown:
Patch change to GR-55 U01:1

B0 00 00
B0 20 00
C0 00

are sent as 3 separate messages (typically with 20ms separation between messages).
But how do I accomplish that a button/switch will send three message (+ with 20ms separation) with Lemur?

And for the sysex/script solution: is it correct that in the "trigger" field: x[0..35] x should represent the sysex info for the GR-55 patch?

I tried Maccizas suggestion from the GR-55 forum, though I don't understand every term in it:
Hi
Try using a Custom MIDI - call it msg perhaps . .
System exclusive triggering on x

And as an array as well
{0x0b0,0,0,0x0b0,0x20,0,0x0c0,floor(x*127)}

And you can use decimal rather than hex
{176,0,0,176,32,0,192,floor(x*127)}

Dont send anything from the x value - the script will handle it
Cheers
MM
What means "array" and what is the script in this case?

Sorry maybe I'm sounding as a dumbass, but I know almost nothing but have the desire to learn.

I'm still reading the Lemur manual, but there's not enough information about sysex data formats.

Are there any good sources for learning about sysex data formats, 7-bit, 14-bit and hexadecimal versus decimal...
iMac 27" (Late 2009, 2,8 GHz Core i7, 16GB RAM), Latest OS X; Macbook Pro 17" (Mid 2009, 2,8 GHz Core 2 Duo, 8GB RAM), Latest OS X; iPad Wifi, 128GB, 4th gen., Lemur; Fodera 6-str. bass with Roland GK-3; Roland GR-55 in Bassmode;

Heartmood
Newbie
Posts:11
Joined:02 May 2014 14:36
Location:Frankfurt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by Heartmood » 03 May 2014 12:50

I'm confused. I created a custom Midi Message, called it "patch change" which data is: {0x0b0,0,0,0x0b0,0x20,0,0x0c0,floor(x*127)} and saved the project:
Screenshot 2014-05-03 14.45.27.jpg
Screenshot 2014-05-03 14.45.27.jpg (32.19KiB)Viewed 5197 times
As soon as I click anywhere in the the main window buttons (here its the "0" switch) it changes to:
Screenshot 2014-05-03 14.45.44.jpg
Screenshot 2014-05-03 14.45.44.jpg (39.03KiB)Viewed 5197 times
iMac 27" (Late 2009, 2,8 GHz Core i7, 16GB RAM), Latest OS X; Macbook Pro 17" (Mid 2009, 2,8 GHz Core 2 Duo, 8GB RAM), Latest OS X; iPad Wifi, 128GB, 4th gen., Lemur; Fodera 6-str. bass with Roland GK-3; Roland GR-55 in Bassmode;

Macciza
Regular
Posts:1325
Joined:07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location:Sydney, Australia.

Re: Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by Macciza » 03 May 2014 13:45

Hi
Yeah, theres a few things askew here . .

If you are just send Program change and Bank change stuff on Lemur to the GR you don't need to use sysex

If you are on the correct Bank already then standard Program Change messages should work , Bank change is needed to change banks only

Heres something I did up a very long time ago as a first draft - using lots of bad techniques for further development/interactivity but it did the job
Most of the stuff is simply hard coded - edit text objects to update names to suit your patches . . .

Will have a look for what else I did . . .
Attachments
^^GR55_Patches.jzml
(486.92KiB)Downloaded 160 times
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]

Heartmood
Newbie
Posts:11
Joined:02 May 2014 14:36
Location:Frankfurt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by Heartmood » 03 May 2014 14:56

Wow, thank you so much Macciza!
That is more than I expected, it looks so great, if it would only work…
Maybe the MIDI settings are different from mine, the GR-55 doesn't receive anything…
The "Object Target" is set to Parent (Midi 5), could that be the problem?

BTW I rectified the numbers-text of the patches in User Patches "61-100?" tab from 61-90 instead of 31-60 and changed the title of the tab to "61-90" too.
GR55_PatchesMaccizaNumbersRectified.jzml.zip
(25.38KiB)Downloaded 208 times
Hope I didn't mess up anything else.

Can I delete the whole "PRESET PATCHS" folder in the Project without harming anything else? I don't use the presets and I'm in Bass-Mode not Guitar-Mode of the GR55.
iMac 27" (Late 2009, 2,8 GHz Core i7, 16GB RAM), Latest OS X; Macbook Pro 17" (Mid 2009, 2,8 GHz Core 2 Duo, 8GB RAM), Latest OS X; iPad Wifi, 128GB, 4th gen., Lemur; Fodera 6-str. bass with Roland GK-3; Roland GR-55 in Bassmode;

Macciza
Regular
Posts:1325
Joined:07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location:Sydney, Australia.

Re: Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by Macciza » 04 May 2014 14:01

Yeah sorry about that . .
I could have given you a bit more info though I hope you had fun poking about . . .
It looks like I have used a bit of a mix of parented mapping and some scripting as well . .

So, go to the top level of the Project tab and click on Project and select your Lemur MIDI Target
I was regularly using MIDI Target 5 (for 55) and MIDI target 6 for (for the 99) rather then just using 0
And also set MIDI_Out variable to the same Target - i.e. 5 or just 0 if using that . . .

You should be good to go, and yes you can just delete the whole presets patches if you want . . .
I don't really use them that much but it is a far better way to go through them then via the box.
They can also be surprising at times when you find hidden gems of ideas within them . .
You could just delete the names if you don't want to edit them ;~}

Cheers
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]

Heartmood
Newbie
Posts:11
Joined:02 May 2014 14:36
Location:Frankfurt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by Heartmood » 07 May 2014 09:13

Hey Macciza,
thank you so much, it works!!! I cleaned the text numbers a bit up and deleted the Factory Patches part. If I could get the patch names from the GR55 automatically I would be more than happy. But for now I#m very happy about my lightning fast switching of GR-55 patches, thanks again!
iMac 27" (Late 2009, 2,8 GHz Core i7, 16GB RAM), Latest OS X; Macbook Pro 17" (Mid 2009, 2,8 GHz Core 2 Duo, 8GB RAM), Latest OS X; iPad Wifi, 128GB, 4th gen., Lemur; Fodera 6-str. bass with Roland GK-3; Roland GR-55 in Bassmode;

Macciza
Regular
Posts:1325
Joined:07 Dec 2011 04:57
Location:Sydney, Australia.

Re: Roland GR-55 Patch Controller

Post by Macciza » 08 May 2014 10:21

Cheeers
Getting patch names is certainly possible - just need to decide an appropriate way to do it . .
Will try to remember to look into it further at some point . . .
MM
iMac 2.8G i7 12G 10.6.8/10.7.2, Legacy Dexter/Lemur, Liine Lemur/iPad2, KMI SoftStep, 12Step & QuNeo , B-Controls, Mackie C4 etc
MaxMSP, Live Suite, Native Instrument stuff, etc Modified Virtual Guitar System etc All Projects/Modules © CC-BY-NC-SA[*][/b]

Post Reply