Lemur sending OSC from monitoring

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
Eric
Lemur sending OSC from monitoring

Post by Eric » 23 Oct 2013 10:26

hi everyone,

i'm a newbie in lemur, sorry if that question sounds stupid, or has been asked previously.
I have some issues with re sending osc from lemur control (any). Let's take a simple slider for instance. This slider controls a Daw (live, cubase, whatever). I record an automation in the daw with that slider. Now by playing back this automation, the slider is moving by itself. I ask it to re send value in osc in the same time to another device (max, reaktor whatever). I do configure everything well, from the command in this slider to the device adress, osc, everything. But thing is, the slider doesn't send anything back when it is moving according automation. It does send data when i am moving myself from lemur, but doesn't send the feedback datas in automation. I assume it is a kind of monitoring issue, a midi to osc trick , and i hope there's a way to go around that.

Any solution?
thx!

Softcore
Regular

Re: Lemur sending OSC from monitoring

Post by Softcore » 23 Oct 2013 23:04

Here's the thing.... In order to avoid a constant "loop" between a mapped parameter and a Lemur object, WHEN a Lemur object is moved by received data (feedback from Daw) it doesnt send that data back out....if it did, you would experience weird jittering movement of both the DAW and the fader, the one trying to catchup with the other - I know this for a fact because I have witnessed it too many times in some of my poorly designed custom midi feedback scripts lol.