Help, Remapping incoming Midi events

Discuss Lemur and share techniques.
karmafx
Help, Remapping incoming Midi events

Post by karmafx » 19 May 2013 20:41

Hi Everybody!

I'm a noob in Lemur scripting.
I own a SoftStep Midi Controller and I used it with an iPad2.
The Sofstep come with a Editor for customize the messages transmitted but i need a setup on the fly without a computer.
My idea is to use Lemur with a mockup of the interface of the device and do the remapping translation in lemur.

For example receive on a PAD a Note 60 on midi ch 1 and remap to a note 62 or better a chord targeted to another synth app in the same ipad.
Or the same for Control Change messages, receive a CC1 on CH1 from the device to a fader and transmit a CC2 to a CC in a synth to control a parameter.

I know this is simple but i couldn't do it modifying templates from the library.

MIDI_ARGS, OnMIDI execution and Custom MIDI are not that well documented with examples as a guide for this

Any help?

Thanks,

Carlos

Softcore
Regular

Re: Help, Remapping incoming Midi events

Post by Softcore » 20 May 2013 07:38

Create a OnMidi script, and set it to receive note, CC or whatever type of midi messages you wish to remap, and a Monitor.

Inside the OnMidi script type:

Monitor.value=MIDI_ARGS;

Now, use your connected software to send various messages and observe the monitor. Soon, you will be able to figure out for yourself, in each case what MIDI_ARGS[0] is,
MIDI_ARGS[1] is, and so on. This way, you will know how to re-construct and remap these incoming vector values.

Specifically for the case of CC though, I have worked with it and I can tell you that:

MIDI_ARGS={CCnumber, Value, MidiChannel-1}

SO if for example you want to re-map CC2 of midi channel 12, received in Target0 to CC21, the same midi channel to Target1

OnMidi, target0, CC message type, 1 to 127, 1 to 16

Code: Select all

If (MIDI_ARGS[2]==11 && MIDI_ARGS[0]==2)
ctlout(1,21,MIDI_ARGS[1],12);